Online House
Configurator.

Challenge.

When creating a configurator for any kind of product you are often faced with the same dilemma:

Do you start the configurator with a blank page and reveal the product step by step as it is configured? Or do you rather show a complete product to start with and change it from there as the user sets configurations?

Both approaches have their disadvantages.

Configurator Approach

01

Imagine the goal of your web application configurator is to inspire users to buy your product. Now if you start with a blank page so you can reveal your product bit by bit you definitely don’t scare the users off with a wrong product – but let’s be honest, how inspiring is a blank page?

Configurator Approach

02

On the other hand if you start with a ready configured product so a user just has to make alterations, you avoid the blank page. But this approach is only inspiring if you – by coincidence – show the user exactly the desired product. And how likely is that?

Solution.

Imagine the goal of your web application configurator is to inspire users to buy your product. Now if you start with a blank page so you can reveal your product bit by bit you definitely don’t scare the users off with a wrong product – but let’s be honest, how inspiring is a blank page?

This sketch style is a learned visual encoding for “in creation”. So we used this sketch style and put it in a 3D house configurator. House parts that the user defined are transformed into a more realistic 3D style.

House-Configurator-iPad-03
House-Configurator-iPad-04

Topped with an easy user interface including smooth transitions as well as an inspiring 3D animation at the end this configurator is bound to be fun for users!

House-Configurator-iPad-02

House Configurator Web Application

When creating a configurator you are often faced with a dilemma: Reveal the product step by step as it is configured? Or start with a complete product and change it from there as the user sets configurations? Both have severe disadvantages. This approach is a solution to the problem – at least for house configurators.

Web app benefits

  • Sketch style is learned visual encoding for “in creation”
  • House parts are transformed into realistic 3D style
  • Easy interface including smooth transitions
  • 3D animation of end result
  • Fun for users!

Online HausKonfigurator.

Herausforderung.

Wenn Sie einen Konfigurator für ein Produkt erstellen, stehen Sie häufig vor dem gleichen Dilemma:

Starten Sie den Konfigurator mit einer leeren Seite und zeigen Sie das Produkt Schritt für Schritt, während es konfiguriert wird? Oder zeigen Sie lieber zunächst ein komplettes Produkt und ändern es von dort aus, während der Benutzer die Konfigurationen festlegt?

Beide Ansätze haben ihre Nachteile.

Konfigurator-Ansatz

01

Stellen Sie sich vor, das Ziel Ihres Web-Applikations-Konfigurators besteht darin, Benutzer zum Kauf Ihres Produkts zu inspirieren. Wenn Sie jetzt mit einer leeren Seite beginnen, damit Sie Ihr Produkt Stück für Stück enthüllen können, schrecken Sie die Benutzer definitiv nicht mit einem falschen Produkt ab – aber seien wir ehrlich, wie inspirierend ist eine leere Seite?

Konfigurator-Ansatz

02

Wenn Sie jedoch mit einem fertig konfigurierten Produkt beginnen, sodass ein Benutzer nur Änderungen vornehmen muss, vermeiden Sie die leere Seite. Dieser Ansatz ist jedoch nur dann inspirierend, wenn Sie dem Benutzer zufällig genau das gewünschte Produkt zeigen. Und wie wahrscheinlich ist das?

Lösung.

Stellen Sie sich vor, das Ziel Ihres Web-Applikations-Konfigurators besteht darin, Benutzer zum Kauf Ihres Produkts zu inspirieren. Wenn Sie jetzt mit einer leeren Seite beginnen, damit Sie Ihr Produkt Stück für Stück enthüllen können, schrecken Sie die Benutzer definitiv nicht mit einem falschen Produkt ab – aber seien wir ehrlich, wie inspirierend ist eine leere Seite?

Dieser Skizzenstil ist eine erlernte visuelle Codierung für „in creation“. Also haben wir diesen Skizzenstil verwendet und ihn in einen 3D-Haus-Konfigurator eingefügt. Vom Benutzer definierte Hausteile werden in einen realistischeren 3D-Stil umgewandelt.

House-Configurator-iPad-03
House-Configurator-iPad-04

Dieser Konfigurator bietet eine einfache Benutzeroberfläche mit reibungslosen Übergängen sowie eine inspirierende 3D-Animation am Ende und wird den Benutzern bestimmt Spaß machen!

House-Configurator-iPad-02

House Configurator Web Application

Beim Erstellen eines Konfigurators stehen Sie häufig vor einem Dilemma: Zeigen Sie das Produkt Schritt für Schritt, während es konfiguriert wird? Oder beginnen Sie mit einem vollständigen Produkt und ändern Sie es von dort aus, während der Benutzer die Konfigurationen festlegt? Beide haben schwerwiegende Nachteile. Dieser Ansatz ist eine Lösung für das Problem – zumindest für Online Haus-Konfiguratoren 😉

Web-App Benefits

  • Der Skizzenstil ist die erlernte visuelle Codierung für „in creation“
  • Hausteile werden in einen realistischen 3D-Stil transformiert
  • Einfache Oberfläche mit reibungslosen Übergängen
  • 3D-Animation des Endergebnisses
  • Macht Nutzern Spaß!